The Carl & Roberta 
Deutsch Foundation

Meet the 2018 Selection Committee

"I was inspired and learned as I reviewed the wonderful HALO Award applications. They were the best of the best.
Reading them was an unexpected, impactful gift to help me make our volunteer program even better."

-Alex Morales, President & CEO, Children's Bureau of Southern California
2016 Selection Committee

Patrick Conyers

Executive Director, Pasadena Educational Foundation

Partners for Children South LA is a collaborative working to improve developmental outcomes for children birth to 5 years and to reduce their risk of involvement with the child welfare system. Liza is responsible for overseeing all aspects of the initiative, including project and committee management, cross agency care coordination, fund development and budget management, partnership development, evaluation, strategic planning, and external communications and coordination with other similar initiatives and collaboratives. Liza has over 24 years of non-profit experience, working specifically with at-risk youth and families in the South Los Angeles community. In previous positions, she was responsible for fund development, community outreach and partnership development, program design and implementation, curriculum development, training and technical assistance, volunteer recruitment and management, staff supervision, among other areas. Liza grew up and still resides in the very community that she has committed her life to supporting. In addition to her professional work, she has been a mentor to an at-risk youth and is a lector at Transfiguration Church. She has a BA in Communications from Howard University.

Kristina Deutsch

Trustee, The Carl & Roberta Deutsch Foundation

Kristina Deutsch has faithfully served as a member of the Advisory Committee at The Carl & Roberta Deutsch Foundation, providing insights and guidance, since 2008. She has also been a member of the HALO Award Selection Committee every year since the award’s inception in 2011.

Dorothy Fleisher

Program Director, W.M. Keck Foundation 

Dorothy Fleisher is the Program Director for the Southern California Program of the W. M. Keck Foundation. Dorothy has been with the Foundation since 1999 and her primary responsibility is overseeing grantmaking in the areas of arts and culture, civic and community services, health care, precollegiate education, and early childhood development. Prior to joining the Foundation, Dorothy worked for United Way for 14 years, where she oversaw allocations to a network of organizations and launched several major initiatives, including a network of school-based family centers in the northeast San Fernando Valley. Currently, she is the co-convener of the Education Funders Group, a founder and member of the LA Partnership for Early Childhood Investment, and a steering committee member of Southern California Grantmakers Foster Care Funders Collaborative. She also serves as a board member of the California Social Welfare Archives. In 1996 she was honored by the California Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers as Social Worker of the Year, and in 1998 she was a recipient of the YWCA of Greater Los Angeles’ Incredible Woman Making History Award. She earned her doctorate in Social Work from the University of Southern California with a focus on social policy and administration

Carrie Harlow

Program Officer, The Ahmanson Foundation

Carrie Harlow joined The Ahmanson Foundation in 2011, having previously served as the Associate Director of Annual Giving at Occidental College, her alma mater. As a generalist, Carrie appreciates the variety of LA County organizations she encounters through her work as a Program Officer, covering the program areas of Health and Human Services, Education, and the Arts. She earned her master’s degree in Public Administration with an emphasis on Nonprofit Management from the USC Price School of Public Policy in 2013. Carrie currently represents The Ahmanson Foundation as one of three managing funders of the Nonprofit Sustainability Initiative. She also serves as the Co-Chair of the Steering Committee of the Los Angeles Chapter of Emerging Practitioners in Philanthropy, sits on the Education & Community Partnerships Committee at Center Theatre Group, is a member of the board at The Road Theatre Company, and enjoys volunteering for Occidental as a Rising Philanthropists Committee member. 

Chris Henrikson

Board Member, Street Poets

Chris Henrikson is the founder of Street Poets Inc. and served as Executive Director for over 20 years before transitioning to the board at the end of 2017. Chris currently serves as the board chair for Wolf Connection, a transformational sanctuary for rescued wolf-dogs and at-risk youth one hour from downtown LA. He is also a founding member of the Arts for Incarcerated Youth Network, and sits on their governing council. Chris is in the process of writing a memoir about his work with Street Poets entitled “Burners” while continuing to facilitate homecoming retreats for state prison parolees, professional development trainings, and rites of passage retreats for youth and young adults at the Wolf Connection ranch.

Gabe Middleton

Chief Executive Officer, human-I-T

Gabe Middleton is the Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder of human-I-T, a nonprofit that connects low-income individuals and nonprofits to technology, internet, and digital training. As CEO, Gabe built a system to redirect excess technology out of landfills and into deserving homes. Through this model, he has connected over 5,000 underserved students, veterans, and people with disabilities to opportunity in the digital age. His vision has also diverted over 1 million pounds of electronics out of the waste stream and back into society. Gabe has worn a number of hats at human-I-T, including manager, marketer, researcher, fundraiser, volunteer coordinator, and strategist. His leadership has seen the organization grow from a team of two based in an apartment to a team of 40 with a multi-warehouse operation. For his part, Gabe has been recognized as a Coors Lite Latino "Lider" of the Year, as well as one of eBay's Small Business Owner of the Year.


Kara Soldati

President & CEO, United Friends of the Children

For the past 15 years, Dr. Kara Allen Soldati has been leading and developing organizations that ensure adequate access to critical services for children, families, and communities in under-resourced areas. Kara graduated from Purdue University in Indiana before driving west to begin her career as a Special Education teacher in Oakland, CA. Since her time in the classroom over fifteen years ago, Kara has led high-performing organizations in both the public and private sectors in Boston, Kampala (Uganda), Port-au-Prince (Haiti) and throughout Northern and Southern California. Kara received her Masters of Social Work from the University of Southern California and completed her Doctorate in Educational Leadership for Social Justice at Loyola Marymount University. Kara lives in Northeast Los Angeles with her partner and their 5-year-old daughter. In her free time, she teaches graduate level courses at Pacific Oaks, amasses books she’ll someday read, and plays basketball in LA’s rec league.