top of page

Introducing the 2021 HALO Award Recipients

The Carl & Roberta Deutsch Foundation is pleased to announce the 2021 HALO Award Recipients, along with their volunteer nominees: Child Development Institute and Martin Fisher, MOSTe and Elba Salazar, Neighborhood Legal Services Los Angeles and Trudy Goldberg, The PLUS Me Project and Cheryl Farrell, PUENTE Learning Center and Andy Lippman, and Union Station Homeless Services and Gerry Rothschild. We invite you to learn more about the recipient organizations and volunteer nominees by exploring

Each year the final cohort is chosen by a Selection Committee made up of local nonprofit and foundation leaders. These individuals volunteer their own time and expertise to carefully review applications and come together to select the newest HALO Award cohort organizations. The Foundation consistently receives applications that are both compelling and competitive, leaving no easy task for the Selection Committee. However, in the end, every committee comes to a final decision they are proud of, consisting of strong and diverse organizations clearly “ready” for a year focused on strengthening organizational capacity through the enhancement of volunteer efforts.

To meet the 2021 HALO Award Selection Committee, you can visit

Clockwise from top left: Sue Y. Chi, Kristina Deutsch, Sarah Wilson, Seyron Foo, Drew Furedi, and Suzanne Brown

Not pictured: Debbie Unruh

We look forward to working closely with Cohort 11 during the next program year!



bottom of page